New Year’s Eve Cocktail Party

cocktail party
Happy New Year everyone! The boys have had their first day back at school today and almost instantly my head is feeling clearer, strange that! I can’t say Christmas was the most relaxing holiday, it rarely is with little ones, but there were many good times too. The boys are at moments the best of friends and have so much fun together, then they can suddenly change into the most horrid grotbags in an instance.  I have an older sister, there’s seven years between us, a big enough gap for us to not argue, so I don’t get this constant irritating of each other.  I’m sure I irritated her daily, me being the younger one, but it was never intentional, I had no idea if I was annoying.  I continue to live my life in this completely oblivious way today, although sometimes I worry what people think of me, but I’m just me being me and that’s my New Year’s resolution. To be me, all of the time and not worry, although my crazed frizz bomb of a hairstyle does slightly concern me.
cocktail party
Anyway, we didn’t have any plans for this New Year’s Eve, but I thought I’d like to try and show the boys that New Year’s Eve can be a time to celebrate and have a party.  There’s no way we were going to let the boys stay up any later than normal, they were tired enough. So I had an idea for a mini cocktail party. I am rather fond of the odd cocktail here and there.  Whilst The Farmer and I went to pick up a few last minute ingredients, The Fireman and The Cyclist turned the kitchen into a mini cocktail bar, complete with name ‘The House’ and fairy lights.  We had a variety of 1litre cartons of fruit juice, but I was concerned juice would go everywhere when being poured from those.
cocktail party
I’d let them use our cocktail shaker and shot measure, so only small quantities were needed. We decided the best idea would be to refill small sports lidded bottles, like fruit shoot bottles, with fruit juice as it’d be easier to pour small amounts.
cocktail party
This worked really well, although you need to re-label the bottles!  We all tried following some recipes such as Acapulco Gold, with pineapple, grapefruit and coconut cream.  Then the boys decided it was more exciting making the cocktails for us, rather than actually drinking them.
cocktail party
We had a few extras, like cream, coffee chicory, bubbles (tapioca pearls) and slices of fruit.  They were insistent on trying the lemon and limes and instead of adding slices of orange to the drinks, they just ate them.
cocktail party
The Cyclist made us a cocktail called ‘The Blue Monster’, it didn’t turn out that blue, but I’m happy with that, lots of colouring may have bad consequences!
cocktail party
We sat back and enjoyed our cocktails whilst nibbling on cheesy wotsits, popping our party poppers, that’s the craaaazy life of parents.

We had fun making different cocktails, I’m looking forward to doing this again at some point, it’d make a nice summertime in the garden activity.  Yes I’m already planning for the summer, I’ve had enough of dark mornings!

