How to get you children eating sprouts (maybe)

Brussel Sprouts Gratin
Our boys are pretty good with their food, they seem picky at times, but when I stand back and look at the things they eat I really have nothing to worry about.  It’s just that sometimes I wish they’d eat more things, such as peppers, aubergines and erm sprouts or similar cabbage/greens.  The Fireman has said to me a few times recently ‘Let’s have brussel sprouts’, it’s taken a while for me to completely take this request in.  So I picked up a bag of sprouts from the shop the other day and started to think how I could make these appealing as I had a feeling they weren’t easily going to eat boiled sprouts.

So I did the only other thing I could think of and made a brussel sprout gratin.  It’s a simple dish of sprouts, garlic, bacon and cream baked with some parmesan or Grano Padano which is what we use as it’s cheaper with similar results.
Brussel Sprouts Gratin

Brussel Sprouts Gratin

  • 400g brussels
  • 1tbsp oil
  • Knob of butter
  • 4 rashers of smoked streaky bacon chopped or a pack of lardons/pancetta
  • 2 cloves of garlic crushed
  • 250ml single cream
  • 3-4tbsp grated Parmesan/Grano Padano

Boil the sprouts in a pan for about 5mins. Meanwhile add the oil and butter to another pan, when hot add bacon and fry for 2-3 mins, then add the garlic and fry for another 2-3mins. Stir in the cream.
Drain the sprouts and add to the bacon and cream, then empty it into a baking dish and sprinkle over the Parmesan. Bake for 15-20mins at 180c, until the top has slightly browned.

We served this with roast potatoes and boiled carrots. The first thing The Farmer said when he sat down was ‘I’m not eating that’, but as time went on he tried them, then ate them all up. The Fireman didn’t seem sure at first either, but he too ate them. Overall a big success, leading to a very fragrant house, parp.

