Eating Around the World – Arizona

chicken tortilla soup
Arizona sounded enough like cowboy country to me, so that’s what we went with.  Turns out The Fireman wanted sausages and beans because that’s what he’d seen whilst watching Bob the Builder Wild West DVD, oops, he may be disappointed! I chose to make a Arizona chicken and tomato tortilla soup. I looked at a few recipes and made this up.

  • 2 tortillas
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 2 cartons of chopped tomatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic chopped
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 250ml veg bouillon/stock
  • 4 skinless chicken thighs
  • 2 chopped tomatoes
  • 1 avocado diced
  • large handful of grated cheddar
  • jalapenos, optional

Spray tortillas with oil and bake for 5-10 mins and bake at 170c. Fry onion and garlic until soft, add oregano and chicken and then tomatoes.  Bring to the boil and simmer for 25mins. Remove the chicken from the pan, chop and remove bones. Put chicken back in the pan and simmer for another 5-10mins.  Ladle into bowls and top with tomato, cheese, avocado and chillies (if you’re brave). Serve with crisp tortillas.

This is the way I cooked it but I’d change a few things.  For a start I cooked the tortillas for too long, something like 15mins and they quickly burnt, so keep an eye on them, although they frisbee’d well out of the kitchen window.  In fact I wouldn’t even bother making them, i’d just buy a bag of tortilla chips. I’d also buy boneless chicken thighs and slice them first, then cook them.  Overall though this was a very tasty soup, nice when the tortillas had gone a bit soggy, which I think is how a tortilla soup is supposed to be.  Even though this wasn’t sausage and beans The Fireman really enjoyed it, The Farmer wiped it round his face, which I think meant he liked it too, but not the tortillas, he didn’t like them.
Indian fry bread
For dessert we made Indian Fry Bread.  All I can say is it was a bit odd and sooooo sweet. I’m not sure I made the dough quite right. I halved the butterscotch sauce and still only used half of that. It was ok, but seemed a bit over the top.

No time for crafts that day, we spent the whole day running around Calke Abbey, leaving just 40 minutes to cook this meal, me stressed??? Not at all!!!

Next week we are camping, so we will mainly be eating food from Yorkshire, cooked by someone else, I am quite excited about this, especially if it means, cheese, cake and tea.

