Mango Curd – Being Frugal with the Exotic

Mango curd

I just love buying all the reduced items in the supermarket and making them into something delicious. It’s a great sense of achievement, that you’ve made something cheap and stopped waste. I picked up three mangoes a few weeks ago, we ate one and I diced the other two and froze them for when I had a flash of inspiration with what to do with them.  Disaster then struck, the fridge/freezer broke. I could not let these mangoes go to waste!! Then the flash arrived, mango curd!!! I love lemon curd and orange curd, and figured mango would work too.  I had a look at various different recipes and eventually made this one up, I have no idea if this is the right way to make mango curd but it seemed to work for me 🙂  It created a lovely smooth textured fruit curd and the flavour was quite mild and delicate, a hint of tropical.  The recipe made 4-5 jars worth and knowing it probably wouldn’t last that long and not having much space in the fridge (which thankfully had been fixed) I decided to use some of it in a victoria sponge.
Mango curd and lime drizzle cake
I used about half a jar, but should have used more, the cake was huge. To go along with the tropical mango flavour I made a lime drizzle top, it gave a nice zing. The first night we had a slice, the boys decided they didn’t like it, brilliant we now had approx. eight more slices to eat between the two of us.  It was nice, but definitely needed more filling or less cake, no, definitely more filling, never less cake.

  • 500g grams of ripe mango, pureed
  • 150g butter
  • 200g sugar
  • 6 eggs

Mix the mango, butter and sugar, in a bowl and set over a pan of simmering water until the butter has melted and sugar dissolved.  Whisk the eggs, then beat into the mango mix.  Keep stirring over the pan of water until the mixture has thicken, think it was only about 10mins, bear in mind it thickens further as it cools.  Spoon into hot jars, once cool keep in the fridge, mine have been in there for about four weeks now and it’s still good.

