Rhubarb and Ginger

Jam
One of the finest food combinations, in my eyes anyway. Desperate not to miss out on this years rhubarb and with jam stock at dangerously low levels, I thought I’d try making some rhubarb and ginger jam.
Rhubarb and Ginger Jam
I sort of followed the recipe from the BBCGoodfood, except I increased the sugar to 1.2kg and added two cooking apples finely diced. At step 3 of the recipe, after the sugar dissolved, I also put the lid on the pan and let it slowly cook for about 45mins to make sure all the fruit was soft, then boiled rapidly.  The temperature didn’t reach the usual 104c, but when testing on a frozen saucer at about 80c it seemed set. So I plonked it into some hot jars and onto some toast for immediate tasting.  It’s quite a sweet jam but deliciously gingery.
Rhubarb and Ginger Jam butterfly cakes
I made some butterfly cakes today with a blob of the jam, I’m trying to resist eating one until later, because I know I’ll end up eating two if not, plus we have an enormous bready/cake thing for our Greenlandic meal tonight 🙂

