Eating Around the World – Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea - Coconut chicken stew
Snake, grubs, flying foxes (bats), were just some of the delightful sounding traditional PNG recipes. Short of sending the boys out to dig for grubs and worms I opted for something a little more recognisable to our UK recipes.  For main course we had Chicken and Vegetables in a coconut sauce served with rice, along with some potato fritters, which I wanted to make with yam, but couldn’t find any. I also thought I was using four chicken thighs, but once defrosted turns out they were two chicken legs.

Chicken and Vegetables in coconut sauce – Serves 4

  • 4 chicken thighs, skinned
  • 1 onion finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic crushed
  • thumb sized piece of ginger, grated
  • 250ml carton of coconut cream
  • 1-2 carrots finely sliced
  • 100g green beans
  • seasoning

Fry the onion garlic and ginger in 1tbsp of oil until softened. Add the chicken to lightly brown all over. Add coconut cream and vegeatables. Put lid on and simmer slowly for 25-30mins, check for seasoning. Serve with rice.

Potato fritters

  • 2-3 medium potatoes cooked and mashed
  • 1/2 a grated onion
  • 1 egg
  • plain flour
  • seasoning

Mix all ingredients together and coat small handfuls in flour, then shallow fry for 5mins on each side or until golden brown.

Papua New Guinea meal
Bananas seemed like a popular ingredient too, so we had banana cake for pudding.  I’ve been wanting to try cake in the slow cooker for ages, so this was the first attempt.  I used this banana cake recipe. Not 100% successful due the cake sticking, even though I buttered and floured the dish.  That said it tasted really good and I was surprised how much the cake browned, I imagined it to stay very pale looking. We served it with custard.
Weaving
For our craft I had seen that there is a lot of weaving goes on in PNG, baskets, bags etc. So I thought I’d try out a mini version of weaving, just to show the boys the basic principle, by putting four sticks each in the grass and giving them a small ball of wool. I kept it very simple and quick as I knew they’d be tired from pre-school.  They surprised me, they really loved it, didn’t quite get the idea, but still they enjoyed it and really concentrated on doing it.
Power station
Am I surprised this then happened? No not really, the garden became completely entwined with wool, every outdoor toy became woven together, they worked together without any arguments! I was informed that the final product was a power station, making electricity, which flowed down the lines from the teepee to all the other toys.  I love their imaginations 🙂

Next week Madagascar.

