Rhubarb and custard and rhubarb-tinis – SUNDAY BAKING CLUB

DSCN0603
It’s Rule Britannia Week at the Sunday Baking Club.  I was not sure what to do for this theme, but as I was dozily staring out of the kitchen window I noticed the rhubarb plant had sprung into action.  Rhubarb seems quite British to me and of course very seasonal.  What to do with the rhubarb??

IMG_20130428_193705
Interestingly the first thing that came to mind was a rhubarb cocktail which Claire had made over at Things We Make. So that’s sorted, although I only had 250g of rhubarb.  With the leftover roasted fruit I blended and layered it with some homemade custard and sponge fingers.

Rhubarb and Custard Trifle – makes 4 small trifles.

  • 250g roasted rhubarb, blended (I know the boys won’t like any bits of stringy fruit)
  • 4 eggs separated
  • 3tbsp caster sugar
  • 200g milk
  • 200g single cream
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 8-10 sponge fingers

Heat both milk and cream with the vanilla extract until almost boiling.  Whisk together egg yolks and sugar.  Pour the milk mixture over the egg yolks and whisk.  Pour it all back into the pan and heat slowly, stirring until the custard thickens. Break the sponge fingers into small pieces and put into the bottom of four small glasses.  Soak them with the rhubarb syrup from roasting, or like me if you want to save the syrup for cocktails, then soak the fingers with a bit of apple juice. Layer the blended rhubarb and custard.  Leave to chill for a few hours.

