Yes it’s still cold, yes it’s still snowing, yes i’ve had enough of it

March snow day
But despite this life goes on and it only seems fair to let the boys out for their daily walk (just like dogs really). Reluctantly I put on numerous layers and waterproofs, took a deep breath and headed outdoors, only the back garden mind, but that was far enough.
March snow day
I do normally enjoy the snow, but I’ve had enough for now, considering the weather was like this last year.
March 2012

The weather is looking cold for at least the next five days, this does not make me happy as it’s now the Easter holidays (more deep breathes).  I tried to put this to the back of my mind when I remembered reading about vanilla snow ice cream a while back.  I’ve never tried this or even heard of it until recently, so we gave it a go.
vanilla snow ice cream
Collecting the snow was absolutely and definitely my job after already witnessing the boys eating muddy snow. Once we’d consumed a mound of cheese on toast we mixed together….

1/2 cup of caster sugar

1 cup of milk

1/4 tsp of vanilla paste or about 1 tsp of extract

4-5 cups of fluffy snow

vanilla snow ice cream
It was quite tasty, the boys ate all of theirs, but I couldn’t quite get it out of my head that the main ingredient had been scooped from the garden and the we live near a main road and not far from an airport, mmm.
vanilla snow ice cream
Anyway we are now kicking back with a film and a blanket and I am not even going to think about the week to come…

