Mothers Day Gifts

Mother's Day gift

I shall make something for Mother’s Day! That is what I’ve been telling myself for the past few weeks. So 7pm Saturday 9th March I start making some Mother’s Day gifts.  I’d seen an idea on a friend’s Pinterest board, a tutorial on how to make a fabric flower. I had plenty of material suitable for the flowers and used some strips of heavy cream curtain material together with some gold ribbon.With the first attempt the flower was HUGE, as in the size of my head. Attempts two and three were just about spot on.  Much to The Cyclist’s dislike, I stuck the flower together using a glue gun as I twisted and turned, I don’t think I’d have had the co-ordination to twist, turn and sew, plus there’s something very satisfying about using a glue gun.
Mother's Day - Fabric flower

They were a little bit bodged together, I am a big fan of ‘bodge it’ type of projects. I secured a safety pin on the back of each flower.  I thought they would work well pinned to a plain cotton bag or a coat or a cushion. A good night’s work done.  Sunday morning I thought I’d make another gift.  I planned to bake some almond and cherry shortbread biscuits.  I set out very enthusiastic, only to find, I didn’t have any butter or cherries, hmmm this is typical of my planning! A quick trip to the shop and a short while later the biscuits were cooked.
Mother's Day - shortbread hearts
I often make edible gifts, often they look quite pretty, then I chuck them into a plastic sandwich bag and it ends up looking a bit rubbish.  Today I tried to make a bit more effort.  A jar with some suitably ‘girly’ material covering the lid and some ribbon and I think they looked quite nice, it’s at least a step up from a food bag. If you fancy making the biscuits the recipe is as follows.

Almond and Cherry Shortbread Biscuits

225g butter

100g caster sugar

225g plain flour

60g ground almonds

60g Semolina or rice flour

100g chopped glace cherries

Whizz all the ingredients together in a food processor until the mixture starts to come together. Gently knead the chopped cherries into the dough until evenly mixed then wrap in cling film and chill for 30 mins.  Heat the oven to 170c.  Roll out the dough to about 5mm, then cut out shapes and bake on a tray for 12-15mins or until slightly brown.

Happy Mother’s day to two very special mums, we hope you like your gifts, it’s just a little way of saying we appreciate you and all you do for us x

