Children’s book and being a northerner

Julia Donaldson booksFor children’s books, you cannot fault Julia Donaldson’s stories, with their addictive rhyming and heartwarming stories and the wonderfully colourful and exciting illustrations by Axel Scheffler.  Just the other day I was reading through ‘The Smartest Giant in Town’ and ‘Stick Man’ again and it reminded me of how confused I got when first reading ‘The Smartest Giant in Town’. This story is part rhyme, part ordinary text, which took me a while to understand, in particular this part.

The Smartest Giant in Town

Ok, so boat and goat rhyme, but scarf and giraffe???

Scarf and giraffe don’t rhyme!! That’ll be because I’m a northerner, only Derby, but that’s north of Watford Gap and a long way from London village. It’ll also be because my brain doesn’t deal with things like this very well, I can be little bit ermm…slow.

I noticed a similar thing when reading ‘Stick Man’.

Stick Man

Scarf and laugh??? You’re having a giraffe!

If I read this in my ‘Derby’ voice, it just doesn’t work.  But when I read it in my ‘down sarf’ voice and just can’t help but laugh at myself, it’s all so wrong, it makes me feel very theatrical. Anyway these are fab books regardless of accents, we just have ‘Charlie Cook’s Favourite Book’ and ‘Tabby Mctat’ to buy now.  I shall struggle on with my funny accents, saying that it’s nothing compared to The Cyclists welsh accent when reading Fireman Sam, I struggle to stay in the same room when he goes full on welshness. Ohh Dilys!

 

