Weston 5 – First race of the year

Weston-on-Trent 5 mile raceI’ve not mentioned much about running for a while.  Mainly because I haven’t done much.  I spent the first 3 weeks of February resting due to an injured calf muscle, I’m still not really sure what I did, but possibly tore a muscle, so thought it best not to continue running.  Then there was half term, not much running happens in school holidays, ever, plus we had a vomiting bug, eugghh. Then two runs in after recovering from all of this and a wake up with an awful pain of what I can only think of as a trapped nerve in my back, I could barely walk and every breath caused pain.  So with three days to go until the Weston 5 I resigned myself to the fact I wasn’t going to compete.  But hey! It’s a miracle! By Saturday I could walk and breathe so today I dug out my Team Derby Runner vest and ran the Weston 5, but like I said I could walk and breathe, but running was something completely alien.  I shouldn’t expect too much after the past month, but stood on that start line you always hope you’ll do well, better than last time at least.  Well I guess I took 40 seconds off last years time, but I can only be honest and say I’m disappointed. I’m looking at this as positively as possible and hope this will drive me to improve. Next race planned is the Derby 10k in April, but hopefully I’ll fit another one in before then. So this week sees the start of interval sessions, something I have been avoiding and probably for good reason, we’ll see what happens…

