What do we do with all these little things!??! Making a badge holder

Badge holder x2I really am quite rubbish at tidying up, but I try.  It’s just that there’s always….stuff everywhere that have no obvious homes.  Including badges that the boys have collected from various places.  I hate chucking any of their stuff out, although I drew the line at the Christmas cracker tat and chucked it out. I decided to make some sort of display/holder for their badges.  As we go out visiting lots of places I thought I’d tried and encourage them to buy a badge each time there is a visitor centre or shop, rather than the enormous sword and shield, viking helmet, 5ft tall dinosaur etc, not quite the same I know, but we’ll see how it goes. I’m also keen to get using the sewing machine and making stuff too.  So using some material I bought a while back I made these.  They may not look anything special, but I’m pleased and I learnt quite a bit along the way. Firstly I ironed on some interfacing to stiffen the fabric, that’s right, I used an iron! Took a bit of finding mind.  Badge holderThen sewed the edges and added some pirate ribbon. I then added a bit of grey felt to the top and bottom, folded it over and stitched it to create a loop which I could thread some sticks through, then attached some string.  Badge holderThere are probably proper names for the techniques I used, but I have no idea what they are. The overall result was what I was after though. The boys reaction was the usual, ‘Oh, thanks mummy.  Can we have a snack now?’

