New Walk Museum – Meet the dinosaurs!

New Walk

For my birthday treat, we went to the New Walk Museum in Leicester.  It was recommended by a friend whose daughter loves dinosaurs, a lot!  My boys love dinosaurs too.  The Fireman has been talking about dinosaur bones on and off since the summer when we went to the archeaological dig. The only place I could think to see dinosaur bones was the Natural History Museum, but a day trip to London would be far more than I could cope with. So this was ideal and best of all it’s free!!!! We like free! To make it into a bigger adventure, we went on the train.  On the train

Long Eaton to Leicester is only about 25mins, but costs just over £9, so I wouldn’t bother if there were two adults, makes it a bit pricey. We arrived a Leicester after scoffing giant chocolate cookies, but had no idea which way to go.  Perfect timing though as two police officers appear, The Fireman asks them if they know where the dinosaur bones are, fortunately they knew exactly what he meant. Just as we were about to set off the police officer added, ‘You know the dinosaurs come alive at night, don’t you?’, the boys faces were brilliant, I don’t think they knew what to say, they were excited but slightly scared too. The museum is really close to the station, if you go in the right direction that is, but we didn’t.  It was a tough day already as The Farmer was having one of his ‘I don’t want to walk days’.  A 10min walk must have taken at least 45mins to get there with the amount of snack and drink stops and resting our legs stops. I would really recommend this place to other parents, but bear in mind if you have very (hyper)active children, like me, then it can be quite a handful as the museum is quite an open place and quite busy in the school holidays. New Walk
New Walk
The boys enjoyed the dinosaurs, but I think they liked the Wild Space exhibit more as there were tunnels to crawl through and LOTS of buttons to press.

New Walk

Looking for badgers

New Walk

There is also an Under 5’s area, not a lot there but my U5’s certainly found it fun, unfortunately the funky pod thing was not in use. New Walk
New Walk
The Costa Coffee cafe in the museum serves sandwiches and soups, quite basic, but they also do a children’s lunch deal for only £2.95. The cafe can get quite busy, with a 4 and 2 year old you can’t get them to sit at a table on their own before ordering, so you might find the tables fill up whilst you’re buying your food. The cafe is also quite open and next to the gift shop, major distraction when trying to get them to eat. New WalkThere are loads of other exhibits there too, we had a quick look at the upstairs exhibit about the human body, DNA and stuff like that.  By this point though I felt like we’d had enough, I was exhausted and aware that our adventure was not over yet as we had to get back to the station and find the right train. I would definitely go again, perhaps when The Farmer is a bit better at walking and ideally not in the school holidays. Happy birthday to me, could have done without a headache though, but then what should I expect from a day out with two crazy boys?!?

