An alternative Christmas cake

cake

After I made the chocolate orange cake for my dad’s birthday, my dad and his wife asked if I could make them another one for Christmas.  Absolutely!! It makes me feel very happy that someone has requested one of my cakes!  So I tried a slightly different version this time. I baked a Victoria sponge cake recipe, using the basic rules of weighing 4 eggs, then using this same weight for the sugar, butter and self-raising flour, but to make it chocolatey I took out 50g of flour and replaced with 50g cocoa.  I still used a orange juice sugar glaze on the sponges.  This cake has two layers so it’s sandwiched together with chocolate butter cream.  It’s then covered with chocolate butter cream and decorated with chocolate orange segments again and edged with orange matchmakers.  I wish you all a very merry orangey Christmas!

