Remember, remember the fifth of November….Dad’s birthday

Remember, remember the fifth of November, gunpowder, treason and plot.  Yeah, yeah, that’s all great but more importantly it’s my dad’s birthday.  I know this post is also a week late, but I made a cake that I was really pleased with, so I thought I’d show it off.  My dad’s favourite treat is chocolate orange, in particular, Terry’s (plain) chocolate orange.  So I thought I’d make a cake along these lines. Unfortunately I couldn’t find a plain chocolate orange so I used milk chocolate for the topping.  The cake was based on the brown sugar chocolate cake recipe from Dan Lepard’s Short and Sweet, but baked in a cake tin for a circular cake instead.  The cake was drizzled with an orange juice a icing sugar glaze. It was then topped with a mix of cocoa and sugar icing and decorated with little handmade oranges and milk chocolate oranges.  I was really pleased with the taste and the look, maybe my presentation skills are slowly improving.  We piled round to my dad’s for tea, he cooked us sausages and pizza, not sure he should be doing the cooking on his birthday, but hey, he seemed happy 🙂  We sang happy birthday and devoured the cake.  Happy (belated) birthday wishes dad, we hope you had a good day x

