One year on – Golden Gates Gallop 2012

Photo taken from This is Derbyshire. Only 2 miles in and looking a bit rough!

Golden Gates Gallop 2012, a 5 mile run, marks the anniversary of my first year of running.  I ran this last year with only one training run and finished with a time of just under 51 minutes.  Today I ran 42:52, so I’m pretty pleased with that result. Unfortunately I didn’t wear my Team Derby Runner vest, too much of a wimp as it was a bit cold.  I still feel like I could improve on my fitness after minimal running over the school summer holidays and suffering with a virus for the past 10 days.  Although whilst fitness will no doubt improve my speed I think much of my improvement is down to my mental attitude.  I now know I’m capable of running at this speed, I even managed a sprint finish and I know that I’m (probably) not going to die. At a few previous races I’ve been disappointed because I’ve not wanted to push myself, because I worry about the consequences.  I’m slowly starting to get it into my head that even on a 10km route, I’m not going to be running for much longer than 50mins and after that it’s over, so sometimes it’s worth the pain.  Today’s sprint finish showed me that. My preparation of getting stuck inside Donington Racetrack this week helped along with a few essential baked snacks, i.e cake.  On a few races I’ve had some of those energy gels, they are gross.  So I thought I’d try making something a bit more natural, along with the greatest ready meal on earth, a banana.

Recipe 1 – Fruity Malt Loaf I love anything that has a malty taste and this was no exception.  It’s not like a squidgy Soreen malt loaf (I love biting into a whole loaf of Soreen!).  It’s more cakey, like a very fruity teabread.

225g raisins

40g butter

150ml water

175g self-raising flour

1/2 tsp bicarb

110g dark brown sugar

1 egg

1 tbsp malt extract (I found some in Holland and Barrett)

Heat oven to 180c.  Grease and line a 500g loaf tin. Put dried fruit, butter and water into a saucepan, ring to the boil, simmer for 5mins, leave to cool slightly. In a large bowl, mix flour, bicarb, and sugar. Stir in the buttery mixture, then beat in egg and malt extract. Tip into tin and bake for up to 50mins, depending on your oven, ours is a hot oven so only took 40mins.

Recipe 2 – Homemade Larabar Recipe

This is a  recipe I’ve pinched from the lovely people over at Bring The Kids. I used their recipe as a guideline and as I typically do with recipes, used whatever was in the cupboard, which is something as follows.

Half cup walnuts

Half cup of almonds

One and a half cups raisins

Half cup of dried apricots

2 dried prunes (all that was left in the bag)

So simple and tasty.  Tested by the boys who gave a thumbs up, not that they really need more energy…

Just one week until the next race, Shelton Striders 10k, the perfect excuse to eat more ‘energy’ cake.

