Thank you cake

The Farmer finished at his nursery a couple of weeks ago, so to show our appreciation to the staff we thought we’d bake a cake. It took 2 attempts to make the chocolate loaf, the first one sank miserably, the second grew like some monster in the oven and spilled onto the (luckily placed) baking stone in the oven, it looked like a whole load of lava had flowed through the oven.

Looking at this photo, it’s obvious now that the tin was way too small for that amount of mix!

So the second attempt wasn’t great either but because I was going to whack a load of chocolate fudge frosting all over it, I thought it’d be ok.

Chopping this amount of dark chocolate made me very happy

As a special little finishing touch I added some farm animal faces, like the ones I did for The Farmers birthday just to remind them of his love of farm animals.

Crushing the biscuits – we gave up and put them in the food processor

The boys made some extra little chocolate snowballs from BBC Goodfood.  Although I did change them a bit as I couldn’t get hold of some ingredients.

A lot of very sweet stuff all in one place – heaven

So our recipe was as follows;

  • 400g white chocolate , broken into pieces
  • 100g rich tea biscuits
  • 50g kit kat bites
  • 50g mini marshmallows
  • 50g raisins
  • 50g cakes crumbs (we used shop-bought Madeira cake)
  • 5 tbsp golden syrup
  • 100g desiccated coconut
  • Hundreds and thousands

I found that the mix was a bit dry and didn’t really stick together very well, which is why I added more syrup. Also because they were quite dry, the coconut didn’t stick well either.

Time to get messy (with some help from Roary and Big Chris)

It’s difficult to describe them as ‘snowballs’  because they were mainly a brown sort of colour, but that’s because I didn’t use white maltesers and used chocolate cakes crumbs.  They were very tasty though. I had to be quite strict with the boys for them not to eat the mix before we were done as we were cooking for other people. The Farmer continually asked ‘Can I eat this?’ and ‘Can I lick it?’ and ‘Just try a little bit?’

Snow ‘with a bit of mud’ balls

We dropped the cake off this morning, we hope they enjoyed them 🙂

