hickory dickory dock at the museum

I fancied doing something a bit different today, I’d seen an event at Derby Museum on Twitter. I hadn’t realised they run an event every Friday morning during term-time for under 5’s and it’s FREE!

I hadn’t been to Derby Museum for about 12 years, I can’t remember there being much to see or it being that inspiring. Despite this I thought I’d give it a go anyway.

We drove to Derby Grandma’s and caught the bus into town, just to challenge myself even more, fortunately Derby Grandma came with us, so life wasn’t quite as stressful.

The session was based on the theme hickory dickory dock. There were craft activities including making a clock and a mouse.

The Farmer at top speed

There was also a trail through the museum based on time travel, I have to be honest I didn’t really understand what we were supposed to do other than look for letters around the museum, which we failed at :-).

Stone age tools

Regardless of this though, the boys thought it was great! I didn’t expect them to understand much about the exhibits or have that much attention span for each section.

Tunnels – he’s still running

There was so much to look at, and a surprising amount of stuff for under 5’s to do.

The Fireman taking Derby Grandma on a tour

One of my favourites was this set of drawers, which said to look in and touch. In my opinion this is exactly what museums should be about.  In places the museum looked a bit dated, but there were still buttons to press and books to look at and tables to sit at and doing colouring.

Ooo buttons

There were some bones!! Oh The Fireman was so happy, maybe not dinosaur bones, but near enough.

We can’t go over it, we can’t go under it, we’ll have to go through it.
Tip-toe, tip-toe, tip-toe.

The Farmer loved the cave. We walked through and he started saying ‘tip toe, tip toe’  I then realised he was re-enacting ‘We’re going on a bear hunt’ by Michael Rosen 🙂

There are lots of buttons to press which lit up pictures and examples of wildlife.  They both enjoyed the wildlife section, especially the live stick insects.Within this area there’s a reading sofa and animal costumes which they can dress in.

More bones!

After the museum we bought sausage rolls for a sausage roll feast at Derby Grandma’s house.  Both grandparents did a great job of joining in 🙂 They were so good they were allowed to have the boys climb all over them and read them stories.

So overall I was very impressed with the museum, and we could easily spend a couple of hours when we go next time. Next Friday (20th July) the theme is Mini Diggers, digging in sand, sounds good. Then on Saturday 21st July there will be a Medieval Day.

