Tea and Cookies

A few weeks ago I entered a cookie bake-off which was organised by Jess at A Lot On Your Plate.  It was half term, so The Fireman and I baked peanut butter cookies together. They were sooo good and didn’t last very long at all. I had a browse through the other entries and came across English Breakfast Tea Cookies by Add A Little Sunshine

This I thought, sounded intriguing. Adding tea leaves to a biscuit? Gotta try that!  Just recently The Cyclist and I have been drinking loose leaf tea.  It is so much nicer, even the boys enjoy a cuppa in the mornings.  If I forget to make a pot at breakfast I am swiftly reminded by The Farmer, ‘teatot mummy, ma like-a cuppa teeeeaaaa’ and specifically ‘ina ma juublee paaaarty cup’.

We bought a few different types of tea from a cafe in Nottingham, Lee Rosy’s. This is a great cafe as it’s never too busy and they sell toasted crumpets with butter and jam and of course a cup of tea.

Recently we’ve tried rooibos earl grey, very nice as we’re trying not to drink too much caffeine. Russian caravan, only bought this because I thought the name was very cool (this is a similar technique I use when buying wine). The other tea is green tea blue sky.  I’ve never had green tea before, but the smell of this tea is delicious and it looks so pretty.

Back to the cookie recipe from Add a Little Sunshine.  I decided to try adding the green tea blue sky to these cookies. I’ve converted the recipe to metric, but of course all credit goes to Add a Little Sunshine.

  • 150g plain flour
  • 40g granulated sugar
  • 40g icing sugar
  • 1tbsp tea leaves
  • 1/4tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1tsp water
  • 55g butter

Heat oven to 190c. As the green tea blue sky is quite ‘leafy’ I used a pestle and mortar to grind it to a  powder.  I added all ingredients with the tea into my food processor and did as the recipe suggested after that:

Next add in the remaining ingredients and pulse until a dough begins to form. On a sheet of wax or parchment paper, roll out your dough into a log. Wrap the paper around the log to smooth it out. At this point you can freeze your dough for later use or chill for 15 minutes before slicing into 1/3 inch pieces. Bake for 12 minutes or until sides begin to brown.

Regardless of the tea leaves, these cookies are delicious, so buttery. They’re almost like shortbread, which I love. The tea gave a hint of a floral taste, maybe floral tasting biscuits sound a bit grim, but they really were yummy. Just like the peanut butter cookies these didn’t last long.

