Cookies, a voyage of discovery.

It’s half term, I need to entertain The Fireman, I need to bake. The perfect opportunity came along in the form of  a monthly bake-off set by Jess at A Lot On Your Plate.

We have to wait around for a parcel this morning so this seemed like the ideal time to bake Peanut Butter Cookies from Dan Lepard’s book Short and Sweet.  I cannot recommend this book enough. Just to look at it’s perfect pastel cover makes me happy. The recipes vary from nice simple baking to recipes that will push you that little bit more, which is just what I need.  Dan Lepard also writes baking articles for the Guardian which are well worth reading.

Peanut butter cookies are nice and simple just what you want with baking with a 3 year old. Nice and simple recipes and a fair bit of patience, particularly when he keeps zero-ing the scale mid weighing.

Everytime time I bake with The Fireman it’s like a voyage of discovery.  With each ingredient added he asks ‘Ooo vanilla, I’ve not had vanilla before, can I try it?’ and ‘Ooo chocolate and marshmallows I not had those before, can I try them?’ Really, you’ve never tried chocolate or marshmallows? What kind of mean, stingy parents do you have? Ok so I guess he’s not any of these yet TODAY.

If you are dieting, you may not want to read any further, or alternatively eat cookies and prepare yourself for a 20min run later.

Recipe for peanut butter cookies.

200g crunchy peanut butter

125g unsalted butter, softened

150g caster sugar

175g brown sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 egg

100-125g wholemeal or spelt flour

1 teaspoon bicarb of soda

100- 125g rolled oats

Basically mix all ingredients up to and including the egg, add the flour and bicard beat till smooth, then beat in the oats.  Dollop walnut size balls onto a baking sheet and cook for about 18-20mins at 160c.  Leave to cool for a few minutes then transfer to a cooling rack

We added some extra ingredients, just because we could and we’re all kids in this house.  So in went 100g of chopped chocolate and four little packets of Fireman Sam mini marshmallows the boys got at Easter.

Aahhh I am in cookie heaven, I love nutty things (no sniggering at the back).  A cookie and a glass of milk and the day continues on a high.

Now to the swimming pool (my least favourite activity).

 

