A whole year of no ironing

header1.jpg

That’s right, WordPress told me last night I’ve been here a whole year. One whole year of babbling on about…stuff and you lot have actually been reading it! A friend suggested last night that surely this calls for a cake, so here is something a bit cake like, a mahoosive plaited chocolate bread.

Plaited Chocolate Bread

So the past year in No Time For Ironing has been great fun, I never thought I’d enjoy writing, English was always one of my least favourite subjects.  I have learnt a whole load of techy stuff and met some lovely people and bloggers along the way.  I still very firmly believe there is no time for ironing, but to add to that list, there is also no time for dusting, window washing, weeding (weeds are good for wildlife), organising of clothes in drawers, organising of toys and definitely, definitely no time for regrets.
My sister sent me a very sweet message saying she’s looking forward to another year, I jokingly suggested this may be the year I make my fame and fortune! But in all honesty I wish not for fame nor fortune. If people pass through and enjoy our adventure that is great and if they pass through and are inspired to cook, create or explore what we have done, even better. But more than anything I wish for a diary of memories to share with my husband and boys, to never forget the things we have done and of course it’s great to have you all along too.

Enjoy the bread, ’tis nice with coffee, decaf that is (got sensible head on for once).

  • 600g bread flour
  • 30g cocoa
  • 2tsp dried yeast
  • 30g butter, softened
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 100g dark chocolate, chopped
  • 100g white chocolate, chopped
  • 350ml warm water
  • 1 egg for glaze

Add all ingredients together in a food mixer and mix for 5 mins until well blended and dough is elastic. Leave to prove for 2 hours. Lightly knead the dough and shape on a floured surface, then transfer onto your baking sheet.  Cover with a tea towel and leave for another hour, or until twice the size.

Brush with beaten egg and bake in a pre-heated oven at 200c for 15mins, then turn the oven down to 180c and cook for a further 20mins. Leave to cool. Scoff.

